THE STUFF OF SATURDAYS: deck the hall, bruise your hand.

hey.

Before I really even start, I would like to wish you all…HAPPY HOLIDAYS [whichever one(s) you celebrate] AND HAPPY NEW YEAR! 

So wehhhhhhhhhlcome back, all you Janinjas. I love you all! And I love WordPress because it gives me an outlet for all my brain juice. x]

If you can tell where the title of this post is from…you may or may not have a higher chance of getting a prize in the near future! ;] *wink if there ever was one.* It will help you out if you decide to enter the contest!

Please read the whole thing. I’ll send you cyber cookies. 🙂 They’re invisible though, so good luck finding them. 😛 And if you read the whole thing, I swear you‘re gonna get something out of it. (Like CONTEST PRIZES MAYBE?!? HUH, HUH?) Also, I’m sorry, I know it’s long.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
so let’s see whats in store for today.
APPETIZER: Music of the Week Day Week
ENTREE: Nails Galore! (Review+NOTW)
DESSERT: Let it snow, baby. Let it reindeer. Contest+The Key
DOGGIE BAG: Blurb of the Day
please note that “Contest+The Key” is orange. clearly, it means something.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

appetizer

Music.

I have a lot of music for you guys this week, and you may want to pay attention. It will affect you if you want to enter in the contest I will talk about later.

Song of the Week Day Week

This week, I actually have a few songs (seeing as I haven’t posted for about a month…sorry, the constant schedule changes kinda muffed things up).

My favorite songs right now are “The Tables Are Numbered for a Reason, Honey, You Just Haven’t Thought of It Yet” by Panic! at the Disco and “What a Catch, Donnie” by Fall Out Boy. Earlier this week, however I really liked “The Good Left Undone” by Rise Against. The lyrics are phenomenal. I’m also loving “Smile Like You Mean It” by the Killers, which is actually one of my favorite songs of all time!

My Favorite Band (of the Moment)

My favorite band, as of now, is probably Panic! at the Disco, even though they are one of my all-time favorites. I love almost their songs, and A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out is probably the best album of all time. OF ALL TIME! Some other songs by them that I’m really enjoying that aren’t listed above (I didn’t want to fill it with just P!ATD songs) are “I Constantly Thank God for Esteban” and “But It’s Better If You Do”.

And it’s always helpful that Brendon Urie is really, really nice to look at. xP Also, did you hear? …Brendon Urie’s getting married! He’s engaged!!! 🙂

PAAAAAAAAANNNNNNIIIIIIIIIC!!!!!!!

Bands I’ll Always Listen To. No Matter What. This Week’s Edition: PARAMORE! Part Deux.

(Picture from: pammiepedia.com)

It’s common knowledge that I love Paramore. I talked about them in my first post! I do realize that I only wrote 3 songs that I liked, so I figured I’ll write all of them! I’ll go by album to make it more organized…

ALL WE KNOW IS FALLING: Pressure, Emergency, Franklin, and My Heart.

RIOT!: For a Pessimist, I’m Pretty Optimistic, That’s What You Get, Hallelujah, Misery Business, Miracle, crushcrushcrush, Fences, and Born for This.

BRAND NEW EYES: Careful, Ignorance, Playing God, Brick by Boring Brick, The Only Exception, and All I Wanted.

I also really like “Monster”, which was a single. 🙂

There go our appetizers. Or hors d’oeuvres as the lovely French call them. Let’s move on to the entree.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

entree

Nails Galore! 

You’re mighty hungry today, aren’t you? I have some, I lied, A LOT of stuff to show you guys today! Some is actually Ju’s, but, oh, well. Too bad. 😉

Review- Holidaze Colors!

For Christmas, I decided to go with alternating red and green nails. For red, I used Revlon Cherries in the Snow, and for my green, I used Wet n’ Wild Jade.

Here are some pics of the finished product! I used 1 coat of Cherries and 3 coats of Jade.

Let’s begin the reviews…Let’s start of with Revlon Cherries in the Snow. One word- great! It was a one-coater, honest-to-God. It wasn’t streaky, and went on smoothly and easily. No bubbling either, which was great, because otherwise I would have…I don’t even know. Probably chucked the bottle out the window and dented someone’s car on accident. The only thing was that with this polish, the tip wear was SUPER EXTREME, as in tips missing after 2 days. With a good top coat, however, I’m sure the tip wear would be minimal.

As for Wet n’ Wild Jade, it was REALLY sheer, but I got it opaque in 3 coats, which is better than some polishes I’ve seen. There was barely any tip wear, and I had it on for a week, which was nice. It went on really nicely too. 🙂 That’s all the reviews for these polishes!

NOTW+Review- Alert the police…I’m wearing pink!

This week, I went with dark colors…Revlon Scandalous (it used to be called “Facets of Fuchsia”), which I borrowed from Ju. It’s a sheer black, buildable base with large fuchsia hex glitter and small pink glitter suspended in it. It looks AMAZING, and is totally down my alley. 😀 Here are some pictures! 😛

Sorry about the messiness...I was in a hurry.

The following pictures are all from 1 week later. It’s amazing how little tip wear there was (AND NO CHIPS!!!! :D), but it was weird, because some of the glitter CAME OFF. Also, some of the glitter TURNED SILVER…what the heck?

OMG I LOOK SO PALE!

That’s all for the nails! Now, finally, we can move onto dessert!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

dessert

Let it snow, baby. Let it reindeer. The Contest+The Key

Some of you might be thinking that this heading has NOTHING TO DO WITH ANYTHING, but it should help you out with finding out the title. So let me start talking about the latter of the first item in the heading- The Key.

As you may or may not have noticed, we’ve got some new pages! Though The Journey of P&P is pretty self-explanatory, The Key takes a little more work.

It’s password protected. Every week, we will give you a clue that should help you out on figuring out the password. Inside is all our deepest, darkest secrets. (Okay, not really. But it’s got stuff in there that’s embarrassing and such. xP) This weeks clue is…

YouTube.

Now for our contest…we will have 10 contestants total. In order to enter, comment on the “Contest!” page. Every week, there will be a challenge, and 2 people will be eliminated. Look at the “Contest!” page for more details. The winner will receive the password to “The Key” and a box of prizes, including nail polish (good brands, I assure you), eyeliner, lip gloss, and more!

That’s it for our delicious (if I do say so myself, and I do) desserts!

But wait, there’s more! (Love it when they say that in commercials x]) Doggie bags to bring home!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

doggie bag

Blurb of the Day

JennaMarbles!

If you watch JennaMarbles on YouTube, you’ll remember this! 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
That’s all for today, folks! Thanks for reading! Please comment and/or like if you think it’s worthy!
ex oh ex oh, less than three,

~janine

21 Comments

Filed under Contest, Music, Nail Polish, Raves, Reviews

21 responses to “THE STUFF OF SATURDAYS: deck the hall, bruise your hand.

  1. Lauren I.

    Lovely post.
    I’d love to join the contest but since I quit.. Uh…
    I love the nail reviews and the blurp made me LOL ..
    Great job, J!
    Love you!

    Lauren(:

    • janine

      Thanks, L!

      Revlon Scandalous was a byotch when I was trying to take it off, though! D: Took me like 2 hours to get it off!
      Love ya too(:

      ex oh ex oh,
      less than three,
      ~janine

  2. Great post Janine hehe!
    I love your nails gurlie (: Remember to give me back Scandalous tomorrow (:
    LOLZ JENNAMARBLES FOREVER.
    Love you ❤
    Juju

    • janine

      Thanks, LOL it’s yours! 😛 Ugh, it was AWFUL TO REMOVE…took 2 hours!!!!!! D:<
      LOVE YEWWW ❤

      ex oh ex oh,
      less than three,
      ~janine

  3. ;&->Arielle

    Virtual cookie please! Lol I only watch a few things on youtube…so Jenna MArbleS?The songs are so pretty! And I love the Holidaze nails!

    • ;&->Arielle

      and sorry pretty is the word I use for everything. lol.

      • janine

        If you want to see the people watch on YouTube, go to the Motion Picture Entertainment page(: Here’s your invisible cookie…sugar of course(; Good luck with the contest! LOL about “pretty”.

        ~janine

  4. Very cute post Janie. I adore the polishes, I need to get them myself. I love the ones that you choose too.
    Till next post,
    Miss A ^^.

    • janine

      Thanks! LOLZ it’s “Janine”, not “Janie”. A lot of people get that mixed up, haha. Just for future reference, Scandalous was horrid to take of…it took me 2 hours, 6 jumbo cotton balls, and a ton of water. -_- If you really like the color, I’d suggest putting it over black(:

      ex oh ex oh,
      less than three,
      ~janine

  5. Alicia Rivera

    Super cuh-yoote nails chicka! The cawntest seems puh-retty cool! I’ll definitely go check it out! 🙂

    I Heart You! SpalphaAliciaRivera

    • janine

      Thanks, it’s Ju’s polish for the 2nd look(: Please go enter! It’ll be fun! 😛

      ex oh ex oh,
      less than three,
      ~janine

  6. Magnus Bane the Warlock

    I love Panic! At the Disco!!! Its my favorite band. My favorite song is The Ballad of Mona Lisa. Paramore is an amazing band too. I love all the songs! Your nails are so pretty!
    Jenna Marbles is hilarious.

    • janine

      Thanks! About Jenna- I agree. She’s awesome, and her dogs are SO cute! 😀 My favorite band is definitely Fall Out Boy though, so sad they’re on “hiatus”!

      ex oh ex oh,
      less than three,
      ~janine

  7. Cindy

    J,
    Jenna Marbles… never heard of her but she seems funny, lol. I’m not much of a Youtuber…
    I MIGHT do the contest so sign me up already! (:
    Adorable nails. Seems really pretty – the green one but I’d NEVER do green on my nails, haha.
    The dark purple looks gorge tho.
    Check out my blog – new post!
    Love you!

    -Cindy
    http://www.poppiesandpirouettes.wordpress.com

    • janine

      Thanks, C! 😛 Wow, channeling GG, aren’t we? Jenna is so funny, you have to go check her out! If you want to sign up, just comment on the “Contest!” page, and we’ll add you! 🙂 The prizes are totally worth it. 😉 Thanks, LOL most people wouldn’t do a green like that. Haha, it’s black with pink glitter, not dark purple. 😛

      ex oh ex oh,
      less than three,
      ~janine

  8. Jem Carstairs(TN)

    You have totally awesome music taste, Janine. Panic! At the Disco is my FAV BAND! 😀 Your nails are super cute! It was weird that the nails changed color but still cool at the same time!
    I am so excited for the contest! I signed up! 😀 I luv the lil blurb, I don’t really watch Jenna Marbles but I heard about her from Shane Dawson.

    xx Randy
    http://peacelovecheesecake.wordpress.com/

    • janine

      Thanks, Randy! Yeah, they changed from pink to silver…color fail! LOL I saw that you signed up! Good luck! 🙂 I don’t watch Shane Dawson, but I think I should start, huh? 😛

      ex oh ex oh,
      less than three,
      ~janine

  9. Kaddie

    Hey Janine,
    P!ATD fan FOREVER❤ I can’t believe Brenden Urie is getting married though!! NO!D: Now there goes my chance with ever being with him & his hotness. JK, I’m really happy to here that actually (: Annd, Paramore fan forever too! I absolutely love all those same songs. Have you heard their song Decoy? Love it!
    I love the nail reviews! The Revlon Scandalous has to be my favorite, it’s just too gorgeous!
    K-❤

    • janine

      Hiya Kaddie!

      Same here! I’m totally going to go buy unnecessary amounts of their stuff(: LOL I think I may have heard that song, but I’ll look it up! 😀
      Thanks! It’s so pretty, but it was SUCH a pain to take off (like most glitters).

      ex oh ex oh,
      less than three,
      ~janine

  10. Pingback: THE STUFF OF SATURDAYS: happy birthday to me. | Prettied and Polished

Leave a Reply

